Our town – BUDAPEST

(hungarian, italian, spanish: Budapest; romanian: Budapesta; turkish: Budapeşte; polish: Budapeszt; greek: Voudapésti) is the capital and the largest city of Hungary. In 2011, Budapest had 1.74 million inhabitants. Budapest became a single city occupying both banks of the river Danube with a unification on 17 November 1873 of west-bank Buda and Óbuda with east-bank Pest.
The name “Budapest” is the composition of the city names “Buda” and “Pest”, since they were united to become a single city in 1873.


Budapest lies in central Hungary surrounded by settlements of the agglomeration in Pest county. The Danube enters the city from the north; later it encircles two islands, Óbuda Island (Óbudai sziget) and Margaret Island (Margit sziget). The third island Csepel Island (Csepel sziget) is the largest of the Budapest Danube islands. The highest point of the Buda’s hills and of Budapest is János hill, at 527 metres above sea level.


City Park (Városliget) and Margit Island are perfect places to find some green area in the city. In the City Park in winter you can enjoy ice skating. Margaret Island offers a wide range of sports from running and cycling to tennis or swimming in the Alfréd Hajós Swimming Center (hosted the LEN European Aquatics Championships in 2006 and 2010).
The city’s largest football stadium is named after the world famous Ferenc Puskás.
The Hungarian Grand Prix in Formula 1 is a recurring event since 1986, being held at the Hungaroring just outside the city.


Originally Budapest had 10 districts after coming into existence upon the unification of the three cities in 1873. On 1 January 1950 Budapest was united with several neighboring towns and the number of its districts was raised to 22. Now there are 23 districts, 6 in Buda, 16 in Pest and 1 on Csepel Island between them.

  • I. district: Budavár
  • II. district: –
  • III. district: Óbuda-Békásmegyer
  • IV. district: Újpest
  • V. district: Belváros-Lipótváros
  • VI. district: Terézváros
  • VII. district: Erzsébetváros
  • VIII. district: Józsefváros
  • IX. district: Ferencváros
  • X. district: Kőbánya
  • XI. district: Újbuda
  • XII. district: Hegyvidék
  • XIII. district: Angyalföld-Újlipótváros
  • XIV. district: Zugló
  • XV. district: –
  • XVI. district: –
  • XVII. district: Rákosmente
  • XVIII. district: Pestszentlőrinc-Pestszentimre
  • XIX. district: Kispest
  • XX. district: Pestszenterzsébet
  • XXI. district: Csepel
  • XXII. district: Budafok-Tétény
  • XXIII. district: Soroksár

Main sights

  • The neo-Gothic Hungarian Parliament Building (OrszágházHouse of the Country: is the seat of the National Assembly of Hungary, one of Europe’s oldest legislative buildings, a popular tourist destination of Budapest), containing amongst other things the Hungarian Crown Jewels.

  • Saint Stephen’s Basilica (Szent István-bazilikaSt. Stephen’s Basilica: is a Roman Catholic basilica. It is named in honour of Stephen (István), the first King of Hungary (c 975–1038), where the Holy Right Hand (Szent Jobb) of the founder of Hungary, King Saint Stephen is on display.

  • Buda Castle (Budavári Palota) is the historical castle and palace complex of the Hungarian kings in Budapest, first completed in 1265. In the past, it was also called Royal Palace (Királyi-palota) and Royal Castle (Királyi Vár).

  • The Fisherman’s Bastion (Halászbástya) is a terrace situated on the Buda bank of the Danube, on the Castle hill in Budapest, around Matthias Church. It was designed and built between 1895 and 1902 on the plans of Frigyes Schulek.
    From the towers and the terrace a panoramic view exists of Danube, Margaret Island, Pest to the east and the Gellért Hill.
    Its seven towers represent the seven Magyar tribes that settled in the Carpathian Basin in 896.

  • Matthias Church (Mátyás-templom) is a church in front of the Fisherman’s Bastion at the heart of Buda’s Castle District. According to church tradition, it was originally built in Romanesque style in 1015. The current building was constructed in the florid late Gothic style in the second half of the 14th century and was extensively restored in the late 19th century.

  • Hősök tere (meaning “Heroes’ Square”) is one of the major squares of Budapest, rich with historic and political connotations. Its iconic statue complex, the Millennium Memorial, was completed in 1900, the same year the square was named “Heroes’ Square”.
    Hősök tere
    is surrounded by two important buildings, Museum of Fine Arts on the left and Palace of Art on the right. On the other side it faces Andrássy Avenue.
    The central site of the hero’s square is the Millennium Memorial with statues of the leaders of the seven tribes that founded Hungary in the 9th century and other outstanding figures of Hungarian history.
    Statues of the left colonnade:

    • Stephen I of Hungary (I. (Szent) István)
    • Ladislaus I of Hungary (I. (Szent) László)
    • Coloman of Hungary (Könyves Kálmán)
    • Andrew II of Hungary (II. András)
    • Béla IV of Hungary (IV. Béla)
    • Charles I of Hungary (Károly Róbert)
    • Louis I of Hungary (I. (Nagy) Lajos)

    Statues of the right colonnade

    • John Hunyadi (Hunyadi János)
    • Matthias Corvinus (Hunyadi Mátyás)
    • István Bocskay (Bocskai István)
    • Gabriel Bethlen (Bethlen Gábor)
    • Imre Thököly (Thököly Imre)
    • Francis II Rákóczi (II. Rákóczi Ferenc)
    • Lajos Kossuth (Kossuth Lajos)

  • The (Dohány utcai zsinagóga/Nagy zsinagóga), also known as The Great Synagogue is located in Erzsébetváros, the 7th district of Budapest. It is the largest synagogue in Europe and the fifth largest in the world. It seats 3,000 people and is a centre of Neolog Judaism.

  • Andrássy Avenue (Andrássy út) is an iconic boulevard in Budapest, dating back to 1872. It was recognised as a World Heritage Site in 2002. It is also one of Budapest’s main shopping streets, with fine cafes, restaurants, theatres, and luxury boutiques.

  • The National Széchenyi Library (Országos Széchenyi Könyvtár) is a library in Budapest. It is one of the two Hungarian national libraries, the other being the University of Debrecen Library.

  • The Hungarian State Opera House (Magyar Állami Operaház) is a neo-Renaissance opera house located in central Budapest, on Andrássy út. It is home to the Budapest Opera Ball, a society event dating back to 1886. Before the closure of “Népszínház” in Budapest, it was the second largest opera building in Budapest. Today it is the largest Opera building in Budapest and Hungary.

  • The Széchenyi Medicinal Bath in Budapest (Széchenyi-gyógyfürdő) is the largest medicinal bath in Europe. Its water is supplied by two thermal springs, their temperature is 74 °C and 77 °C, respectively. Medical indications are on degenerative joint illnesses, chronic and sub-acute joint inflammations, as well as orthopaedic and traumatological post-treatments.


Seven islands can be found on the Danube: Shipyard Island, Margaret Island, Csepel Island, Palotai-sziget (now a peninsula), Népsziget, Háros-sziget, and Molnár-sziget.


One of the reasons the Romans first colonized the area immediately to the west of the River Danube and established their regional capital at Aquincum is so that they could utilize and enjoy the thermal springs.

  • The Rudas Baths (Rudas fürdő)
  • The Gellért Baths (Gellért fürdő)
  • The Széchenyi Baths (Széchenyi fürdő)

Bridges of Budapest

The bridges of Budapest, crossing the River Danube from north to south are as follows:

  • Megyeri Bridge (Megyeri híd)
  • North Rail Bridge (Északi összekötő vasúti híd)
  • Árpád Bridge (Árpád híd)
  • Margaret Bridge (Margit híd)
  • Chain Bridge (Lánchíd)
  • Elisabeth Bridge (Erzsébet híd)
  • Liberty Bridge (Szabadság híd)
  • Petőfi Bridge (Petőfi híd)
  • Rákóczi Bridge (Rákóczi híd)
  • South Rail Bridge (Összekötő vasúti híd)